Travel journals

When I was a little girl my mom always told me to write a little something every night whenever we were on a holiday. Just what I had been doing that day, what I’d seen or something new I’d tried or tasted. Sometimes I hated it – I was just tired and didn’t really want to. But God! I’m so glad I did what my momma told me! First of all it is so nice to be able to look back at all my family vacations/holidays and read about what we’d been up to. Often you forget about small incidents – something special you’ve met, something extraordinary you’ve seen,  or maybe just something you’ve overheard on a small café. I really appreciate all my travel diaries more and more with time. Apart from that it has followed me throughout my whole life so far (okay, okay I’m only 20 – but it still counts). Every time I travel – even though it’s only short weekend trips – I write a travel journal. It can be nice to end a journey or trip with looking back into the journal you’ve been writing while on the trip, but it is just as nice to read the years after.

To me it is kind of meditative to write and I’ve always had something for pretty little notebooks. Earlier on I used the funniest, prettiest or most colourful notebook to write my travel journal in. But a coupple of years ago I got my eyes up for Moleskine. They make the loveliest notebooks you can imagine. And yes. You always have to pay for it! But it’s worth it if you ask me. It feels so good to write in something as simple yet good as a Moleskine notebook. Therefore I have a whole bunch of Moleskine notebooks filled with memories and notes from my travelling. On my longer journeys I bring two different ones – one ruled and one blank. One to write in and one to draw in. My drawing skills are not anything to write home about but I often enjoy LAVE KRUSEDULLER OG SMÅ SKRAVLERIER.

If you are not already writing a travel diary/journal I suggest you to start doing it! I bet you’ll thank yourself in the future J

 

2 thoughts on “Travel journals

Leave a Reply

